About Mary &
Larry Davis
Scholarships & Grants  
RJ McKennon Award
Fundraising Events  
Partners for the Future 
How You Can Help  
About Us 

RJ McKennon Award

The RJ McKennon Award is named in honor of Robert "Big Dog" McKennon, former WSRCA President and Foundation Trustee, who believed that a company's future is in the skills of its employees. With Rob's ideals in mind, the award was shaped to give a valued employee new skills and experiences that will stay with them for a lifetime while simultaneously benefiting his or her company.

To nominate one of your employees, please click on the Nomination Form Link. DON'T WAIT to make a nomination, forms are due to the Davis Memorial Foundation by April 15, 2016. Winner will be announced by late May.

2014 Recipient:
Fausto Barradas
Western Pacific Roofing Corp., Palm Springs, CA
Nominated by Rob Winkle

2010 Recipient:
Brian Hulsey
Quality Tile Roofing, Boise, ID
Nominated by Pat Large & Bill Asbury

2009 Recipient:
Kent Hakola
Snyder Roofing of Washington, Snohomish, WA
Nominated by Kyle King

2008 Recipient:
Rafael Gonzalez
BD Roofing, Tacoma WA
Nominated by Bruce Hunter-Duschel

-One (1) award will be given on a particular year
-Recipient will be notified one month prior to the convention.
-Announcement will be made and awarded at the Legislative Lunch. Recipient must be present.

Award Consists of the Following:

-(1) WSRCA Western Roofing Expo convention package to include all events, meals, seminars and selected auxiliary seminars for the recipient
-It shall include all transportation (airfare, rental car, personal car) not to exceed $500 for the recipient
-It shall include 4 days and 3 nights single/double room at the headquarters hotel for the recipient

Eligibility: All candidates must have the following eligibility requirements:
-Must be nominated by a WSRCA roofing contractor member
-Must show commitment to the industry and desire to improve their experience and skills
-Must have at least 5 years in the roofing industry
-Open to a foreman, superintendent or a field worker in the nominating contractors' company
-An award recipient will only be eligible every five years
-More than one nominee from each company is eligible

Entry Requirements:
-An official application form must be submitted for each candidate
-A current picture of the nominee would be appreciated for identification confirmation and for publicity purposes
-The nominating contractor must be a WSRCA member in good standing

Mail Application To:
Robert J. McKennon Award
c/o Davis Memorial Foundation
275 Tennant Avenue, Suite #106
Morgan Hill, CA 95037

Deadline for all entries is April 15, 2016. Recipient will be notified by late May 2016.
Questions?? Please call the Davis Memorial Foundation at (650) 938-5405 or email Tom Papas: tpapas@wsrca.com


The Davis Memorial Foundation would like to thank the following Founding donors for their contributions in memory of Rob:

Bligh Pacific (Santa Fe Springs, CA)
Professional Roofing (Bellevue, ID)
Quality Roofing (Bozeman, MT)
Star Roofing (Phoenix, AZ)
Union RCA (Orange, CA)
Western States RCA (Mountain View, CA)

Would you like to donate to this valuable award?
Download the Donation Form

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Foundation at (650) 938-5405